Beginner in need of tips

Options
hello my name is Aleesha and I'm new to the eating "right" life style. My goal is to lose 110lbs to get down to 185! Any tips about food, workouts etc! Please feel free to share! I work the 2-10 shift at a nursing home, so some meals I can make at the beginning of the week. Thank you :)

Replies

• Merkavar
    Merkavar Posts: 3,082 Member
    Options
    Focus on food for weight loss

Do exercise you enjoy not ones you hate

Be consistent, don't log for 3 days then 2 days of no logging etc you won't be able to see why you gained/lost what you did.

Take pictures now so you can compare them later to see how far you have come.

Lift weight to preserve muscle.

Prelog you food for the day, so you aren't caught out and make a bad choice.
  • hockeysniper8
    hockeysniper8 Posts: 253 Member
    Options
    Yes, start with meal prep before your work week. There's a Mfp recipe group as well. Set short term goals, Good luck!
  • dvis334
    dvis334 Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    Weight manipulation is all about calories in vs. Calories out so...
    1. Find maintenance calories.
    2. Decrease by 300-500
    3. Measure results on the scale and in the mirror
    4. If you see no results after a week of the initial deficit, repeat steps 2-3 until you do.

Meal prepping is a great way to save time. I prep tuna sandwiches, chicken breasts, and pastas on Sundays and portion them for daily meals throughout the week.

I would suggest strength training for anaerobic and high intensity interval training for cardio aerobic
  • Yi5hedr3
    Yi5hedr3 Posts: 2,696 Member
    Options
    Keeping carbs below 100 grams/day will help keep your insulin down, and allow you to
    begin burning fat.
  • Aleeshawilliams22
    Aleeshawilliams22 Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    Thank you for the advice you guys rock!! How do you guys feel about meal replacement shakes!?
  • janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options