My first half marathon

Options
neutroncore
neutroncore Posts: 36 Member
edited February 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
I'm a beginner at running. I finished my first half marathon yesterday straight running without rest or walk-run mix.
Should I do training or running today? And how I should train to improve my form and speed and distance? Any recommended programs suitable for a begginer finished hslf marathon ?
I felt very happy yesterday for finishing my first half marathon. How you felt and your experience doing your first achievement?

Replies

• Wysewoman53
    Wysewoman53 Posts: 582 Member
    Options
    Don't know anything about what to do after running a half-marathon but CONGRATULATIONS on running your 1st marathon!
  • neutroncore
    Options
    Thanks!!
  • yesimpson
    yesimpson Posts: 1,372 Member
    Options
    Well done!
    I would rest today and maybe tomorrow, depending on how your legs feel, then ease back into it over the following week. I did my first half in October, and was stiff and sore for 3 days, so light walking and stretching was all I did, then swimming on about the fourth day. Was running again a week later.
    I'm doing my second in 3 weeks' time. Can't wait! You can find an intermediate/improver's half marathon training plan online (I like Hal Higdon) if you want to get faster. I also found that resistance training has helped me improve my 5K and 10K times quite significantly, so I would recommend that if you don't already.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    I fully intend to take a week off after my first half in may!
  • neutroncore
    Options
    Thanks "yesimpson" I appreciate your advice. I'm gonna try to walk and try to mix it with a little jogging to see how my body react, I felt very tired and stiff yesterday, I did a lot stick muscle massage and hot bath...it helped.
    I haven't done any training yet so any advice in the right direction is appreciated.
  • neutroncore
    Options