Stuck behind a desk all day...

Options

Replies

• brittaney10811
    brittaney10811 Posts: 588 Member
    Options
    i too have a desk job, and sit here from 7am-3:30pm every day. I am a CAD engineer for a pretty popular company, so it's a good job, but the sitting on my butt doesn't help.

I drink a TON of water while here, and probably have to make 5 or so trips to the restroom. I have an office on the second floor, and i always walk to the furthest restroom on the first floor and jog my stairs coming back.

Also, I am out on the floor a lot to get data to put into my CAD drawings, so i use that excuse a ton to be away from my desk and up and walking around.

I know a lot of people don't have that luxury though. i'd say, if you have a private office, maybe bring in one of those pedal things you can sit under your desk and use your legs and pretty much bicycle while working, or you could bring in a balance ball and sit on that as a chair (although i've only seen that happen on TV commercials, i don't think i've ever heard of anyone actually doing that).

hang in there, and avoid overeating! :)
  • vdavis_89
    vdavis_89 Posts: 334
    Options
    Me too!! My office doesnt have a second floor and its a tiny parking lot :( Its especially hard when its difficult to stay distracted lol all I want to do is eat! A lot of magazines and websites have "exercises" you can do at your desk :) Google it! Also as a snack I bring yogurt and V8 then I dont feel so bad about sitting all day (and I walk about 3 miles a day too) Good Luck!!
  • coleyco30
    coleyco30 Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    who is going to know that you are doing a thiighmaster under your desk??

i've heard of people sitting on those big workout balls instead of their desk chairs you'll be working your core all day./

I know!! You can't even see under my desk to begin with.. oh, I forgot all about the exercise ball.. I wonder if i could get away with that...
  • MDLNH
    MDLNH Posts: 587 Member