Swimming for weight loss?

Options
Can you swim for weight loss? I have been swimming 3-6 times a week for 2 months and I haven't lost anything. I'm swimming fly, back, breast and free and definitely feeling it. It's the only thing I like to do. Any suggestions?

Replies

• 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    Yes, you can lose weight while swimming but weight loss comes down strictly to calorie intake. You can swim/bike/run/lift as much as you want but if you eat too many calories, you won't lose.
  • thereshegoesagain
    thereshegoesagain Posts: 1,056 Member
    Options
    Yes, I'm down 87 pounds due to walking, swimming and counting calories. I under estimate my exercise calories and over estimate my calories consumed to ensure Im not eating more than I should to reach my goals.
  • sympha01
    sympha01 Posts: 942 Member
    Options
    I'm curious why you thought it was important to tell us the frequency of your swims and what stroke you're using, but no details about your calorie deficit. If it's because you're not tracking your food, um, you have to limit your food intake to lose weight: that means having at least some sense of how much you were eating before, and how much you are eating now.

Track your food. Eat a sensible number of calories but below your maintenance level with exercise. If you don't exercise, you have to eat even less, if you do exercise, yay you get a few hundred extra calories a week -- which is great for morale and helps fit treats in, but doesn't amount to enough of a difference that someone who wants to lose weight can afford to not limit total food intake overall.
  • shor0814
    shor0814 Posts: 559 Member
    Options
    You can use swimming to increase your calorie deficit but be careful about relating after. I am always extra hungry after a swim and have to be careful how much I eat otherwise I go over allocated calories. The hunger usually goes away quickly, just resist the temptation.