Cardio

Options
I am a beginner at exercising and going to the gym. I would like to learn how to do cardio effectively in 30 mins. I don't want to burn my self out or make it something hard for me to do. I'm comfortable with the treadmill, however all I do is walk for 30 mins at an incline of 3.0. Is that helping any?
Can you provide suggestions please where I can push myself to work harder? Thank you

Replies

• JamesDanek
    JamesDanek Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    Ok so you do 30 min on the treadmill at 3.0 incline. its a start but...

is it challenging you at all?

If yes then keep at that pace.

If no up the pace i.e. if you are walking at 3mph up it to 3.5 and walk a little faster. Once this is no longer a challenge up it again or increase the incline.

you don't need to kill yourself to see results but you will do yourself the world of good but just continually pushing at the boundaries of what you think you can achieve. you might even surprise yourself
  • DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,613 Member
    Options
    Try changing the pace and incline every few minutes. Push yourself hard for a minute, then recover for a minute. Try some different machines or a class. See what you like and keeps you interested.
  • lloydrt
    lloydrt Posts: 1,121 Member
    Options
    I started just using the tread mill for 10 mins, then 20 , then 30.......started then with an eliptical and then other types of elipticals till I could start using weights.......just the weight machines,........it paid off, Im 100 lbs lighter.......you gotta start one step at a time..........keep up the dedication , increase intensity and it will pay off........best wishes
  • ald783
    ald783 Posts: 690 Member
    Options
    Try changing the pace and incline every few minutes. Push yourself hard for a minute, then recover for a minute. Try some different machines or a class. See what you like and keeps you interested.