Advice about anxiety before sleeping?

Options
lml852014
lml852014 Posts: 243 Member
For the past few months (especially sunday evenings into mondays) I have SUCH a hard time sleeping. I will sometimes fall asleep for an hour or two and wake up and I'm WIDE awake!? Then I lay there and start to get anxious bc I dont want to be tired for work in the morning. There have been times we're Ive had to call out bc I won't sleep at all until like 6 am and I have to be up in 30 mins. I work in a school with autistic kids and teaching k-2nd reading. Its hard work being exhausted and having to stay sane and be able to teach/tolerate students. This happened to me AGAIN, last night...I even took two melatonin pills before bed and normally those seem to help me naturally fall asleep. Went to bed at 10:30 woke up an hour later, wide awake. Didnt fall back to sleep until 2:30-3 am :( and have to be at work until 7:30 for a family reading night I volunteered to help in. I'm not sure what else to do, I dont want to constantly take sleeping pills but I get SO anxious about not sleeping sometimes. Any advice? (Sorry this was so long)

Replies

• lml852014
    Options
    I even drank two beers before bedtime last night :( and read! Thanks for the advice though
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,996 Member
    Options
    What's your current weekly exercise routine?
  • Buff_Man
    Buff_Man Posts: 623 Member
    Options
    I can't sleep after I workout. But certainly reading helps to de-clutter my mind. Books though or Kindle no bright screens though, that screws up your natural sleep rhythm
  • Shells918
    Shells918 Posts: 1,070 Member
    Options
    Try journaling before bed. Sometimes writing your thoughts, fears and anxieties out of your head can help you feel better about going to sleep. There are also deep breathing exercises or meditations you can find on YouTube or soundcloud.
  • majigurl
    majigurl Posts: 660 Member
    Options