Can't keep up with Couch to 5K, Week 1 - Do you have any advice?

Options
Hi, I'm new to running and have begun the Get Running App (it is similar to the Couch to 5K Program). I finished my third workout for week 1 today and thought it would be a little easier by the 3rd work out, you run 1 minute and walk 1.5 mins. I am having an extremely hard time running for the full minute, it isn't my legs- I can't catch my breath, like I can barely get a word or 2 out at the end of the minute. It feels like my lungs won't fill and I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if it's an endurance issue. I am probably going to repeat week 1 because I don't know if I could handle week 2 yet. I'm not sprinting during the minute, and I've mostly done weight training up until now so my endurance is probably low. Did any other new runners have this issue? Were you able to get through week 1 or did you have to repeat? Any advice would be very appreciated. Thank you.

Replies

• lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    I did ok with week 1, but I know lots of people who struggled with it. Just keep repeating it until you can do it. No shame in that. You might try just walking first for a month. Walk fast and it will help build your endurance. Or go smirbother form of cardio like spinning, elliptical, or a class.
  • Orphia
    Orphia Posts: 7,097 Member
    Options
    Well done for trying!

I finished C25K in December. I had lots of trouble breathing at first, too. Try running really slowly.

Also, make sure you're taking a rest day after each session. Your body heals and improves while "resting".

You'll get better as you go.

I ran 13 km this morning, and was barely puffing! The body is absolutely incredible if you treat it well.

Good luck!
  • Malenurse51
    Malenurse51 Posts: 181 Member
    Options