Craving Salt??

Options
Hi All

I'm seeing on some threads that sodium intake needs to be monitored as much as anything else..

My problem is I crave salt.. I absolutely crave it. I would have no problem giving up chocolate - but I have a huge problem giving up crisps etc.. And I know its not the crisps - its the salt I crave..

My diet isn't brill, but I eat veg, fruit, meat. Have a McD's once a week - on a Friday. But I have cut out potatoes as I cannot eat them without a tonne of salt on them..

I drink large quantities of tea (probably 10 to 12 cups a day). Tea with a tiny drop of skim milk. Sometimes I'd swap a tea for a coffee - but mainly tea. I drink very little water..

Anyone know why you'd crave salt?? Would my tea drinking be causing me to crave salt? Can't see how swapping tea for water would help??

Replies

• cowpacino
    cowpacino Posts: 77 Member
    Options
    I'm no doctor, but I've heard that if you don't have heart disease or really high blood pressure, and you drink plenty of water, salt isn't that big of a deal.
  • Solly123
    Solly123 Posts: 162 Member
    Options
    I'm no doctor, but I've heard that if you don't have heart disease or really high blood pressure, and you drink plenty of water, salt isn't that big of a deal.

Not so bad.. No heart disease or high blood pressure here at all..

I just wonder why when other people crave chocolate, I crave salt? Everyones different I suppose!!
  • MellowYellowGem
    MellowYellowGem Posts: 120 Member
    Options
    I have heard if you crave salt it means you need water ironically!

Have a read of this: http://www.3fatchicks.com/what-causes-salt-cravings/ :smile:
  • rjlam
    rjlam Posts: 149
    Options