Two scales- diff readings.

Options
I have a regular weight watchers digital scale that Ive been using to weigh myself for about 6 months now. Yesterday I bought a new scale because I wanted one that would tell me body fat. The new scale is weight watchers brand as well.

So when I got home and got on my new scale, I was very sad to see that it was consistently weighing me in 1-1.8lbs heavier than my old scale.

I got on and off both of them about 100x and every time, the new scale was heavier by at least 1lb.

The only thing I own that I know the factual weight of is 2 3lb weights. I tried weighing those, but the scale doesn't register 6lbs because it's too low.

I tried standing on it with the 6lbs of weights and both scales registered the 6lbs accurately as 6lbs!! *facepalm*

Can someone please help me figure out which scale is right? Of course I'm hoping its my old scale because its a lower weight every time lol but I obviously need to know for sure so that I can accurately track my progress.

Replies

• MelaniaTrump
    MelaniaTrump Posts: 2,694 Member
    Options
    Are you using it on a tile floor or carpet by any chance?
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    I would just pick one and stick with it. A 1-1.8 lb difference is minor. The bf% feature won't be accurate anyway so I'd return the new one.
  • Jillianx115x
    Jillianx115x Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    Are you using it on a tile floor or carpet by any chance?

Tile floor with large tiles.
  • Jillianx115x
    Options
    It's a large difference to me because I only have 6-10lbs to lose. Why won't the BF calculator be right?
  • Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,575 Member
    Options
    It's a large difference to me because I only have 6-10lbs to lose. Why won't the BF calculator be right?

There is a margin of error for ever type of BF measurement. Scales and calipers have the highest margin of error.