Hello! I want to find a way to eat that doesn't involve living off of steak and pickles!

Options
Hello, this is my first time using myfitnesspal - I've been inspired by someone I follow on Instagram. I lost a stone last year through exercise and diet. The exercise part was great and I want to get back to that level of fitness again, but the diet was terrible, I was living off of steak and pickles and protein shakes - no way to live!!

I absolutely loved the way I felt, but then my business got busy, so the exercise went out the window, the ridiculous eating was not sustainable and I put on nearly everything I took off! This time, I want to continue with the exercise, and find a way to eat that is normal!

I had pretty bad depression, over putting on weight, but I am in a much better place now and am ready to start feeling good about myself again :-)

Victoria x

Replies

• pebble4321
    pebble4321 Posts: 1,132 Member
    Options
    No, that sounds pretty bad to me, I can understand why the steak/pickle/proteinshake diet wouldn't work for lots of people!

The good news is that there is no rule that I know of that says you have to limit your diet to such items. What do you like to eat?

I think the most realistic way to get started is to eat regular food (with an emphasis on items that give you more nutrition for your calories) in quantities that fit your daily allowance.
  • Buff_Man
    Buff_Man Posts: 623 Member
    Options
    Good luck Victoria! The key is planning. It's painful at first but it removes the stress around eating because you know it's all ready. Spend some time researching meals and recipes then try them out!
  • peppermintroseflowers
    Options
    Hello Pebble4321 and Buff_man, nice to meet you both!