Protein

Options
What is a good amount of protein to shoot for in a day? I always seem to go WAY over on my daily Protein but not sure how to figure out what I should try to get in a day.

Replies

• pebbam69
    pebbam69 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    It depends are you trying to lose weight gain weight pack on muscle? And how often do you work out?
  • TracyTesch83
    TracyTesch83 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I want to lose weight, I don't work out very often at the gym but I have been getting 10,000-13,000 steps in a day as a form of exercise because I have a desk job.
  • bonniejo
    bonniejo Posts: 787 Member
    Options
    The general consensus in the research seems to be 1.4-1.6 g per kg if you are active and/or in a caloric restriction
  • pebbam69
    Options
    Ok so just so you know i am not a professional however i would recomend a normal amount of protien about 36 grams witch you can get from high protine foods such ad meats be carfull of the fatty ness of the meat though i find chicken breast to be the best and turkey. One thing i have found in my experience is that jogging and walking isnt enough alot of the time if you build muscle it will use and burn more of the fat and carbs resulting in fatty weight loss so maybe doing some squats, push ups, and situps, could help speed things up i dont run i do walk about 13,000 steps a day but i lift weights 5 days a week and ive been droping weight quicker then befor when i just dieted and joged i hope this helps feel free to message me if you have any questions
  • MelaniaTrump
    MelaniaTrump Posts: 2,694 Member
    Options
    Minimum for a sedentary woman is 46 grams of protein per day.
    Just a number to keep in mind.
    My goal is 70 grams a day, but I am high "good carbs" dieter.
  • seska422
    seska422 Posts: 3,217 Member
    Options