Adjusting Calorie Intake-When & How?

Options
In March 2016 I weighed 180lbs, as of last weekend I weighed 160lbs. I am working towards a 150lb goal. I am 5'3 and almost (!) 42 years old.

I started at 1200 calories each day plus exercise calories (which I only ate a portion back of). Once I lost 10lbs I moved to 1230 calories each day plus exercise calories (which I only ate a portion back of). I steadily was loosing between 1.5-2lbs a week.

Now for my last ten pounds I find I am hungrier (belly growling at times) but MFP suggests going back down to 1200 calories a day to keep loosing 1.5lb each week.

What do you recommend I do to satisfy my hunger and continue to loose weight?

Replies

• Nathanae
    Nathanae Posts: 29 Member
    edited May 2016
    Options
    I am at the same point where at the end of my calorie allowance I still feel unsatisfied (but maybe not actually hungry? I am not good at telling them apart!) but I haven't lost any weight for over a week (which I know is not unnormal...) But since I never went down as low as 1200, as this website now suggests (I don't recall what their first suggestion was when I started. somewhere above 1400), I thought I have to go down a few calories and try to fill them better (more broccoli and cottage cheese...). But I am also worried that going too low will start to be too restricting and "diet-y" and make me give up more easily!

So if you feel hungry and don't have a specific deadline, maybe it might be better to listen to your body and feeding it a bit more instead of forcing something you won't be able to keep up forever? :/