Healthy calories?

Options
satsingh81
satsingh81 Posts: 1 Member
edited May 2016 in Health and Weight Loss
Hi Everyone! I am working on getting fit and would like to lose 40 pounds or more. I am new at this and could really use some advice. I am in the 1200 calories range. Should I try to eat all healthy foods for the 1200 calories to lose weight? Have you guys lost weight eating a little bit of junky food? Would really appreciate some advice. Thanks in advance!

Replies

• vismal
    vismal Posts: 2,463 Member
    Options
    Calories determine weight loss. Calories are simply a unit of measurement. They are neither healthy nor unhealthy. You can eat anything you want and if you are in a calorie deficit you will lose weight. You can eat 100% "healthy" all the time and if you are in a calorie surplus, you will gain weight.

There are plenty of reasons to eat a diet primarily based around minimally processed whole foods that are rich in micronutrients for the overall health of your body but you can certainly still lose weight incorporating some less nutritious foods in moderation. For most people, having foods you enjoy in moderation helps with compliance.
  • hiyomi
    hiyomi Posts: 906 Member
    Options
    I've lost a lot of weight eating a lot of junky food lol Seriously, you just need to make sure you are at a calorie deficit. When it comes to weight loss, its all about calories in vs calories out, doesn't matter if it comes from a vegetable or a burger. :) Of course its healthier to eat better foods, but to actually lose weight, it does not matter where the calorie comes from.
  • Whitezombiegirl
    Whitezombiegirl Posts: 1,042 Member
    Options
    Its totally possible. However most 'junk' e.g. pizza is high in calories - so you have the choice to:

1. Have a larger portion which would use most of your calories for the day and may leave you hungry but you will still hit target for the day
    2. Have a larger portion and work off the extra in the gym etc.