Is it healthy and safe to lose 26 pounds in 13-14 weeks?

Options
I was doing good with my diet and exercise and was feeling great until about 9 months ago and I gained 20-25 pound back. Now I want to get back down to that weight or under by then for my birthday party. But I don't know if that is healthy to lose that much so fast. Or can I lose more by that time?

Replies

• hhazzouri
    hhazzouri Posts: 103 Member
    Options
    2 pounds a week is generally safe
  • crystalnichols395
    crystalnichols395 Posts: 68 Member
    Options
    hhazzouri wrote: »

Thanks!
  • hamstertango
    hamstertango Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    I had no problem health-wise losing at an average of 2lb a week since January, only had 35lbs to lose.

Had to stick to calories military style though! and tried hard to keep my vitamins and iron up with good food choices though which may have helped me stay healthy.

I will be honest, I didn't plan to lose that fast it just happened as I was a novice and didn't have a clue about deficeit calculations to start with.
    I don't think I could have kept losing at that rate for any longer though as my cal allowance was low at only 1200 and it was getting sooo very boring so I changed my loss rate to 0.5lbs a week to get the last 5 off.

Hope it works out for you.
  • ashliedelgado
    ashliedelgado Posts: 814 Member
    Options
    Depends on how much weight you have to lose in total.
  • ho11y4271
    ho11y4271 Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    Yes it's healthy and safe and can be done.
  • DanaDark
    DanaDark Posts: 2,187 Member
    Options
    If you are currently 90 pounds and short, I'd say no.
    If you are currently 400 pounds and 6'11", I'd say yes.
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,986 Member
    edited May 2016
    Options

Not if you are 26 pounds away from goal, which appears to be the OP's situation. That 2 pounds per week is for people with a lot of weight to lose.
  • dragon_girl26