Intimidated being a woman in a male dominated gym

Options
When I go to the gym I am fine when I am doing cardio but I always get so intimidated seeing all these massive in shape guys using all the free weights. I have even skipped certain exercises because I didn't want to go near them. Do any of you ladies experience this? I am thinking of joining a women's gym if they have good equipment. I know I just look like such a newb in there, since I'm new to weight lifting..

Replies

• smileymaxine
    smileymaxine Posts: 275 Member
    Options
    I didn't go into weight room as I was clueless , got myself and trainer and got over it, shouldn't worry about guys , you can do weights too everyone is there to exercise , go in with a plan and do you thing
  • ElenaYan
    ElenaYan Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    Omg I feel the exact same way. The weight room is filled with men and it's so intimidating to even step in. I guess it makes sense when I'm utilizing a gym on a naval base...can you blame me it's free?
  • lauracups
    lauracups Posts: 533 Member
    Options
    When I started with a trainer it was at an independent gritty old school Rocky type gym, and I got over real quick any hangups I had. No one cares why you're there or what you look like, they are there for their work out. Don't worry and don't over think, focus on you.
  • trollerskates
    trollerskates Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    Im a man and im intimidated by anyone in better shape than me in a way, i also admire all the work that went in to get them there. Cause thats where im going.
  • melcasa
    melcasa Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I used to go all the time. I thought it was uncomfortable but once they see you really working out and not hanging out I think it gets easier. The hardest part is getting started. Go in with a plan like back and chest or legs and arms. stay focused, bring some headphones, and get pumped!
  • PandoraGreen721
    PandoraGreen721 Posts: 450 Member
    Options