Complicated struggle with binge eating? Help?

Options
I want to start losing weight (~60 lbs) but I know exactly what my struggle is going to be. I have an awful habit of binge eating and snacking late at night. The problem with answers like "eat ever two hours" is that I work a sales associate job and I cant be coming off the floor to eat every two hours.

Another thing is that I simultaneously take a 24-hour allergy pill and Adderall XR for ADHD, so my appetite is never stable. I'll feel hungry but then I eat about a fourth a serving and I feel full. But then and hour later I feel hungry again and so on and so forth.

Does anyone have any managing tips? Or even is in a similar situation??

I'm new to myfitnesspal.

Replies

• demonsorrow
    demonsorrow Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    I eat 3 times a day by the serving size meeting my macro needs but barely 1000-1500cals a day . I don't take any meds but if you can manage smaller portions maybe that will help. Before i got to where i am, i ate like large pizzas 100wings or med pizza 8 wings nacho cheese fries and gravy fries. I had to fight urges to eat. It wasn't easy but i knew i wanted to feel better and look better. I agree with the dietician idea but they can't make you eat right. Mind over matter.
  • sndrd49
    sndrd49 Posts: 234 Member
    Options
    A registered dietician cannot help with binge issues. There are are number of emotional and psychological factors involved. It sounds like you have a lot going on and would benefit greatly seeing an expert in eating disorders. Mind over matter will never work. The underlying psychological factors must be identified or you will be unsuccessful at weight loss. Binge eating is a serious disorder and requires a professional diagnosis. If you are a true binge eater, a registered dietician is not what you need. You must first address the underlying psychological reasons for binge eating. Good luck.