How much difference can i realistically make in 9 weeks?

Options
As some of you know, i signed up to do my first spartan race on August 20. I currently sit at 257 pounds and standing at 6'1. I am a teacher and have roughly the next 6 weeks or so free before school starts back. However, i have 9 weeks from my race date. I am nervous about how i should attack training for this thing. I recently finished a diet bet and now can get into the gym and or cardio as much as needed. What approach should i take? How much of a change can i likely make in these 9 weeks? Where should my focus be? Lose weight by doing a ton of running? Lift and run? I am in a caloric deficit now of about 750 calories a day. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    http://www.spartan.com/en/training/how-to-train/fundamentals

I would suggest not doing tons of running or trying to drop a bunch of weight in that time frame. Circuit training with weights would be a good option. Add in some running hills if you can. Realistically, there are lots of people who sign up for spartan races and don't train at all. It won't be easy, but you'll be fine.
  • Brocksterdanza
    Brocksterdanza Posts: 208 Member
    Options
    Thanks. Not trying to drop a bunch of weight just for race, I'm in this for the longevity of getting my life in order. I decided to sign up for this race as a reward/test for me to have in front of me. I am rather excited about the change i could see in my body as far as strength and measurements.
  • SonyaCele
    SonyaCele Posts: 2,841 Member
    edited June 2016
    Options