Beginner runner needs help

Options
Ok so I am a beginner runner.
I started with a 3k run last week just to know where I am at. I went for my fourth run today and tried to increase the distance this time, I went for 3,5Km.

The thing is. I am slow. So slow you could walk by my side. I am overweight which probably doesn't help me with my speed. I have a pace of about 8:30min/km (13:41/miles).

So as a beginner. Should I be working on increasing the distance, or should I at least work on getting faster to at least 7:30min/km (12min/miles) and than increase the distance?

Most beginner running plans talk about intervals of running/walking. They say its for people who can't run 3k continuously. Is this what I should do anyway? Like running faster for shorter distance, walk to recover a bit and run faster again?

I run about 3-4 times a week and I want to increase both my speed and my endurance.

Replies

• SarcasmIsMyLoveLanguage
    SarcasmIsMyLoveLanguage Posts: 2,671 Member
    Options
    Have you heard of Couch to 5km? You can download the app and it will guide you through a gradual program. Many people on here have had great success with it.

Don't worry about your speed right now. Work on your endurance and the rest will come.
  • ashleyminnich1
    ashleyminnich1 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    I second finding a couch to 5K program. Doing walk/run intervals with a well laid out program will help you to increase both at once.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Work on distance, the speed will come naturally.
  • JennieMaeK
    JennieMaeK Posts: 474 Member
    Options
    Work on distance, the speed will come naturally.