How to calculate calories burned cycling uphill?

Options
This is the cycling trip I took today: https://www.strava.com/segments/673790

I am a male and my weight is 68 kilos. The trip took me about 20 minutes. Im very new to this and any help is much appreciated. Hope I came to the right place :smile:

Replies

• sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Calculate no - far too many variables.
    Strava gives a calorie estimate so why not use that?

Looks like a tough climb.
  • swakki
    swakki Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    sijomial wrote: »
    Calculate no - far too many variables.
    Strava gives a calorie estimate so why not use that?

Looks like a tough climb.

I added a new workout to see if I it could calculate it for me. Is it an option to edit the steepness? Or is it a way to just mark that ive cycled that segment?
  • CincyNeid
    CincyNeid Posts: 1,249 Member
    Options
    No, not technically. Strava doesn't really like that since they use segments for athletes to complete with each other and it would be a easy way to cook the books to give runners/cyclist KOMs they didn't earn.

Like sij mentioned there are too many variables. Your heart rate, BMI, Cadence, wind resistance, rolling resistance (tire pressure, worn bearings, dry chain)....
  • swakki
    swakki Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    CincyNeid wrote: »
    No, not technically. Strava doesn't really like that since they use segments for athletes to complete with each other and it would be a easy way to cook the books to give runners/cyclist KOMs they didn't earn.

Like sij mentioned there are too many variables. Your heart rate, BMI, Cadence, wind resistance, rolling resistance (tire pressure, worn bearings, dry chain)....

I see. You couldnt give it a guess either? Just an estimate. BMI is 22.72 if its any help
  • rileysowner
    rileysowner Posts: 8,243 Member
    Options
    If you used Stava it will give an estimate.
  • CincyNeid
    CincyNeid Posts: 1,249 Member