Shin Pain, doc says not shin splints or stress fracture....so what is it??????

Options
I have been jogging for 2 months now......this is completely new to me. I only started dieting and exercising just a month before that. I am now overweight, but am definitely out of shape. I have a desk job and spent the winter sitting and eating. The weight loss is ever soooooo slooooow, but my main concern is my shin pain. They burn and throb all the time.....go numb when jogging and then throb and burn again. I finally went to the doctor and they said its not shin splints and X-Ray showed no stress fracture. The pain is localized in front of shins about 4 to 6 inches above ankle. Honestly doc was no help at all.....rest, ice, ibuprofen...blah blah blah I would like to feel normal again. Since the doc doesn't seem too concerned I am thinking I just keep going, but how long before I get a second opinion?

Replies

• Elise4270
    Elise4270 Posts: 8,375 Member
    Options
    My guess would be to see a sports doc. Sounds like it still could be shin splints, especially if you are new to running.

Have you Googled shin splints and the symptoms fit? If so, then treat it as such. Reign in your weekly miles, stretch, apply gentle pressure at the pain point then flex and extend your foot. That should break up the scar tissue and help it heal. Make sure you have proper shoes.

Good luck. I actually had a PA go get a book to look up shin splints when I asked if that's what I was experiencing. No advice given.
  • robininfl
    robininfl Posts: 1,137 Member
    Options
    The muscles can sort of pull away from the bone, that needs hardcore rest for sure. I can't remember the name of the injury.

Try a different doctor, certainly. Did he know how long they have hurt?

If it is the shin splints, try switching to walking and see if that helps, once healed move very slowly back into jogging.
  • rileyes
    rileyes Posts: 1,404 Member
    Options