Good HRM under $100. Can it be done?

Options
As the title says, I'm looking to get a heart rate monitor, preferably for under $100. Nothing too fancy, but I'd love if it monitored a continuous heart rate instead of stopping and fiddling with a thumb thing. Any suggestions? Has one been particularly awesome for you? I was browsing at Best Buy (they have a fitness aisle now...weird) and there wasn't a huge selection under that price point. I'm a slightly unemployed teacher, so money's tight. Tired of being stuck at the same weight for weeks...so I'd love to figure out if my exercise really counts for what MFP says it counts for.

If you do peek at my diary, this past week I had an intensive grad class that went from 9-4, and then I had homework until about 11PM or so each night, so....it's not a good measure of what normally happens. I hate sitting in those things.

Replies

• mmelaragno
    mmelaragno Posts: 162
    Options
    I have a Polar FT4 that I got on amazon.com for around $80 and I love it. I think all Polar's are good though, I've never heard anything bad.
  • nomorefatbitch
    Options
    I have the Polar FT4 that I am now trying to get rid of on eBay.

It just isn't for me - but I have heard LOTS of awesome things about it.
  • carpar1
    carpar1 Posts: 211 Member
    Options
    Just purchased the FT4 from amazon for $64......I have used it only 2 days, so far so good.
  • mhig011975
    mhig011975 Posts: 181
    Options
    I have a timex ironman hrm that is pretty decent, the polar brands are the best bet. And if you go to Amazon.com you will save if you go to the store and buy a HRM.
  • TokiDokiGirl12
    TokiDokiGirl12 Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    I just got a FT40 off of Ebay and it was $99. The FT7 and FT40 both show you if you're in the fat burning or fitness zone. I do like Polar HRM.
  • beefluv86
    beefluv86 Posts: 86 Member
    Options