Fat and menopausal- friends needed

Options
Hi All,
I need/want to lose around 25kg. I've put on around 10kg in the last year and just found out I'm in early(ish) menopause. A ravenous appetite for crap is a symptom- who knew?! I just thought I was being a pig for doughnuts!

I have started a walk/run programme and bought a pedometer which I will use everyday and try to reach the target of 10,000 steps.

I am a nurse- hence the username- but I tend to spend a lot of time stood in one place, so I will need to be creative with adding extra steps. I have an 18 month old labrador who loves walks so she'll keep me off the sofa. I just need to avoid the chocolate and buns.

I'm looking for friends in a similar situation to help with the crap that comes with menopause and we can motivate each other.

M

Replies

• maryjoweather
    maryjoweather Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hello, I am new to Fittness Pal and I am also an RN. I am a patient educator for a large clinic. I have had a few signs of menopause and am a chocoholic. Planning on lifting weights and walking as well as cleaning up my eating. I am trying the low carb route. Labs are great dogs! Yours is still a baby : ) Would love to be weight loss buddies
  • SCoil123
    SCoil123 Posts: 2,108 Member
    Options
    I'm 36 and in perimenopause. I have other health issues that already make weight loss more difficult and am finding this time around to be especially challenging.

After healing from recent injury I just got approved to start my work outs again too
  • lisaflocker
    lisaflocker Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm new here too. Also menopausal along with a newly diagnosis of type 2 diabetes, needless to say, I am addicted to sugar and trying to get off the sweets bandwagon. Trying to go low carb because that seems to be the only way I can lose weight. Would love to become weight loss buddies with you
  • sonia9240
    sonia9240 Posts: 140 Member
    Options