Is steonglifts good for beginners and too lean out?

Options
I'm new to lifting and I wanted to try strong lifts. My goal is to look and feel strong. I was really obese before and brought my weight down and I look skinny fat now. I'm not entirely satisfied with myself and exercising just feels great now. I planned on bulking + doing SL then cutting. Would it work?

Replies

• psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,395 MFP Moderator
    Options
    Lifting is for fitness and muscle retention. A deficit is for weight loss. Alll programs will.wotk for all phased.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    Yes, sure. If you're bulking you might as well add some accessory work too.
  • sgt1372
    sgt1372 Posts: 3,982 Member
    Options
    Apples and oranges. If you really want to get "strong," you actually need to eat more and gain weight; fat included. Losing weight will reduce your strength but will make you "look" lean and more muscular. So, like most of us, you have competing goals.

However, based on what you've said, bulking and doing strength training and then cutting would work to make you stronger and look better. This should be at least a 1-2 year plan. The 1st year can be developed to bulking up and getting stronger -- don't worry what you look like. You want to change from "skinny, fat" and weak to "heavy, fat and strong."

It should take you at least 6-12 months to plateau in linear progression in Strong Lifts (or my preference, Starting Strength), where you will achieve and most (and easiest) strength gains. You can then decide whether you want to try to go into intermediate training for greater strength or take this opportunity to that a break from training tlose weight and fat (ie., "get cut").

Assuming the latter, if you like the "look" you've achieved, you can then reassess where you are in terms of strength and decide whether or not further strength training or "bodybuilding" development is the way you want to go form there.