Bulking question

Options
I've been cutting seriously for about 4 or 5 months (note that i never bulked before). I wanted to lose the excess fat first then start a lean bulk later on.
I have little to no biceps, and I want to gain muscle. My question is how much do you have to weigh to start a successful bulk? I'm a 5'5 female.

Replies

• geoff2986
    geoff2986 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Do you know your body fat percentage? This will be more important in determining when you should bulk than your weight. The general consensus is for men to be 10-13% body fat before attempting a bulk, and women to be 19-23% or less. Insulin sensitivity decreases with higher body fat. So the lower your body fat when bulking, the better your muscle gains when you overeat.
  • robs_ready
    robs_ready Posts: 1,488 Member
    Options
    I've been cutting seriously for about 4 or 5 months (note that i never bulked before). I wanted to lose the excess fat first then start a lean bulk later on.
    I have little to no biceps, and I want to gain muscle. My question is how much do you have to weigh to start a successful bulk? I'm a 5'5 female.
    it doesn't matter how much you weigh, what's important is that you up your calorie intake.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    What is your body fat %? It's more about this than weight. I have female friends who are the same height as me who had to drop 10 more lbs than I did in order to get to the same body fat%. 18-20% is a decent place to start.
  • Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    edited July 2016
    Options
    I second the recommendation of 10-13% male and 18-20% female body fat percentage.
  • leajas1
    leajas1 Posts: 823 Member
    Options
    Chieflrg wrote: »
    I second the recommendation of 10-13% male and 18-20% female body fat percentage.

Yep!
  • RoxieDawn
    RoxieDawn Posts: 15,488 Member
    Options
    arditarose wrote: »