Beginner's Running on a Treadmill?

Options
LittleFox83
LittleFox83 Posts: 9 Member
edited July 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
Hi everyone!
The heat and humidity is insane here in Florida, and I can barely stand more than a walk to the car, but I wanted to start my fitness *now*, so I got myself a treadmill, and it arrived Monday.

I've been running when I first wake up and right when I get home from work. My calves are MURDERED at this point, but the runner's high, great moods and improved brain function are too amazing for me to want to take a break. I am pretty sure I've already over done it.

My question is, how do I ease into a routine without slaughtering my leg muscles again? I didn't really know how to stretch so I just started at a low speed for about 2 min and increased gradually til I was running full speed. Is this an okay substitution for a warm up stretch? I am a total newbie to running and could really use some pointers.

Thanks!

Replies

• jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    Don't cheat out on your stretches! If you calves are killing you, you have to stretch out your Achilles after your run.

https://www.runningroom.com/hm/inside.php?id=4592
  • kennycbaker
    kennycbaker Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I run 2-6 miles a day on my treadmill. I still run even when my legs are sore. Up your protein intake and eat plenty of veggies.
  • Somebody_Loved
    Somebody_Loved Posts: 498 Member
    edited July 2016
    Options
    Definitely begin stretching!

And depending on how new to running you are, I'd recommend using a program like Couch 2 5k. It uses run/walk intervals that gradually increase each week to get you to running for 30 minutes straight. If you already have a running base, you could start during one of the later weeks.
  • blackmoon22
    blackmoon22 Posts: 14 Member
    Options