Is this normal?

Options
Hi Guys

So I have been dieting for a few months now (1200-1300 cals per day) and hitting the gym 6 times a week ( a mixture of cardio and strength training for at least an hour a day), I also have a PT session once a week.

I am weighing myself once a week and don't really seem to be losing lbs, its the loss of the odd 1lb/2lb every week or every other week. I have lost 4 inches on my waist, but just no lbs really. shouldn't I be losing more weight?? Is this normal when I am creating a calorie deficit and exercising so much? Just gets disheartening when i don't see the scales going down as much.

I know it's good to lose inches but I guess in my head I like to see the number on the scales too. is this normal to stay around the same weight??

its driving me crackers and just need reassurance its all good to stay same weight and lose only the inches. <3

Replies

• fr33sia12
    fr33sia12 Posts: 1,258 Member
    edited August 2016
    Options
    Losing 1-2lbs a week means you are losing weight, so when you say you're not losing, what you actually mean is you're not losing as quick or as much as you want.
  • caradack1985
    caradack1985 Posts: 254 Member
    Options
    Yes, losing 1-2lb a week is a good, normal rate if loss.
  • mizzmarble
    mizzmarble Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    its not a regular loss though, its like one week I lose, next back up, then down then same, its not consistently 1/2lb a week. i am constantly around the same weight.
  • yesimpson
    yesimpson Posts: 1,372 Member
    Options
    If by 'a few months' I assume you mean 3, and if I take the average of losing a pound per week from what you've said, that means you've lost 12lbs. That's nearly the weight of a bowling ball.