BMR at 971?

Hi, My name is Marilyn and I have been using myfitnesspal for a couple of months and haven't been able to lose any weight. I'm 5'5" and 138 pounds. So yesterday I had my BMR assessed by using a breathing device at Cooper Clinic. They told me that my BMR is only 971. How can that be? I have always been very physically active- work out 3-4 times a week... and until about 5 years ago danced 4-5 days a week. I took up golf and have slacked off to 2-3times a week in the gym (and a few extra stressors) and have in the past year put on an extra 13 pounds. I am 64 years old. Has anyone heard of that low of a BMR? Every calculator I find for 84 year olds who are totally sedentary are still at 1,100 at least. At this rate I will have to starve (1,100 calories a day) and can MAYBE get back to my one year ago weight ...in 6 months!!! help

Replies

• xvolution
    xvolution Posts: 721 Member
    I checked using a BMR calculator and it says your BMR is 1260 [based on height, weight and age]. I've never heard of a breathing device that measures a person's BMR before.
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,342 Member
    edited August 2016
    Actually although that is a small BMR I have other older friends who mention theirs is similar/low but they are much smaller (less than 5ft 2") than you so I would question if yours is really that low.

If you are active at least you know that will help. You do know that BMR is just the amount of cals you burn without taking in any other movement of any sort during the day.

MFP works on the NEAT number, that's BMR plus normal sort of moving about (not exercise). Then when you exercise, you log the calorie burn from that so you could end up with a number thats 'nicer' to eat at and still lose.

Set your rate of loss on MFP to 0.5lb a week and sedentary and see what that gives you and eat back half to 75% of exercise cals.

Give yourself a month eating at those calories and then you can adjust as necessary.