Strength training at home

Options
xanjelicax
xanjelicax Posts: 9 Member
edited September 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
Hey

So I've just read a lot of articles, posts on MFP that suggest strength training with cardio to assist with weight loss?

Any suggestions on what to do at home for strength training? I do cardio 5x a week as I purchased a treadmill. Rower. Cross trainer and bike.

Wouldn't know where to start with strength training???

Fitness noob here :D

Replies

• saphin
    saphin Posts: 246 Member
    Options
    As you admit to being inexperienced, I think you would be well advised to weight train using a proper routine and under professional guidance at a gym.

If you are committed to exercising at home, you might like to consider starting with some body weight routines. I like 'You are Your Own Gym', but Convict Conditioning is also supposed to be quite effective. Just be careful to start carefully and progress difficulty as fast as you can without undue straining.
  • xanjelicax
    Options
    Thanks for the advice. I'm not comfortable going to a gym yet, that's why I purchased own equipment. I normally do 15 mins on the rower, 15 on treadmill and 15 on either the bike or cross trainer. Will this still be effective for weight loss or do I need to do strength training aswel?
  • jolive7
    jolive7 Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    With regards to strength training, that is fair enough if you are not comfortable going to a gym but please get someone to show you correct form. You can't just watch youtube videos or ask people on the internet, you need to be actually shown those form corrections etc
  • Naruya8
    Naruya8 Posts: 48 Member
    edited September 2016
    Options