Calories and step counting..

Options
I put this in another part of the forum but go replies :( .. mamybe this is a better place to ask ?

Hi All,

i am quite new to this but am very hooked on checking out the data. to such end if have been entering every calorie and aiming for 10000 steps a day. And it is working . 3kg in 4 weeks. I am happy.

What i dont understand though is the difference in the calories burned between the withings health mate app and MFP.

for example today i earned 979 calories according to MFP (apple heath tell me this was 9.2 miles / 17478 steps)

Health mate tells me i did 17471 steps but only awarded me 534 calories .. nearly 500 different. I choose to eat the difference (well drink it ) but it would be useful to know which estimate of calories burned is more accurate.

its not a one off either. the last counts where 697 vs 441/ 590 vs 350 /1910 vs 1577.

can anyone help me understand why these values are so different ? both apps seem to use the same data (weight and steps) yet the Health mate consistently estimates significantly less .

Thanks

C

Replies

• ShandaLeaS
    ShandaLeaS Posts: 136 Member
    Options
    I use MFP and Fitbit. I'm on a 1200 calorie plan a day but sometimes Fitbit will tell me I've eaten too much at 1200 calories. I think every app you use will be slightly different due to how they calculate things. As long as you're losing weight, getting healthier and feel good I wouldn't worry about the small inconsistencies.
  • criiisdaw
    criiisdaw Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    The inconsistencies are huge though. Today mfp has me with 150 left .. a cuppa and a biscuit. Withings health mate how ever has me as 350 over .....
  • Spliner1969
    Spliner1969 Posts: 3,233 Member
    Options