Need help with macros

Options
Hey y'all! I'm VERY new to macro counting.

Sooooo, any help is appreciated.

I'm 143 lb
Female
I'm 5'2
I am mostly sedentary during the day for work.
I do lift 5-6 days a week.
I've been eating around 1200-1500 calories depending on hunger.

Please help me!

Replies

• terrinicolefit
    terrinicolefit Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    I would use iifym.com :) If you need further help let me know! I sent you a request :)
  • ahoy_m8
    ahoy_m8 Posts: 3,053 Member
    Options
    There's no substitute for your personal experience. Maybe start with 33% daily calories from fat, carb & protein ? I feel best on that breakdown, but try and see how it works for you. Endurance athletes feel better with higher carb. Diabetics feel better with lower carb. Fat, even though highly caloric, is super satiating to some, so they prefer HFLC. Protein is satiating, too, but it's expensive and regularly eating too much can cause kidney issues. Experiment and give it time to produce good results. Good luck!
  • terbusha
    terbusha Posts: 1,483 Member
    Options
    Here's what I've done with my macros for a while, and it works great when done at an appropriate calorie level of your weight loss goals.

Protein: ~0.8-1.2 g/lb of bodyweight...so ~115-170 g/day
    Fat: ~20-30% of your daily calories
    Carbs: the rest of your calories

Also, check out this podcast. It is an awesome discussion on macros and flexible dieting. It'll really help you get started. Be sure to ask if you have questions. I'd be happy to help you out.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_yzbp82pCM
  • jolive7
    jolive7 Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    If you lift 5 times a week 1200 definitely not enough! Your total daily energy expenditure is around 1850 calories. For you, I would probably consider keeping that at around 1500. You don't want to go too low if you are lifting.

My calculations:
    140gram protein = 560 calories
    42gram fat = 380 calories