Weekly workout routines?

Options
Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to working out. I was super skinny at one point, but it definitely wasn't the healthy way. I've certainly put on weight. I worked at a "meathead" gym and everyone had "leg day" "arm day" "everyday." I'm starting to realize that this definitely is not the norm or even really that effective. So far I've been doing between 30-35 minutes of HIIT cardio three times a week with no weight training, along with controlling my diet more. I am starting to loose weight but really would prefer to tone up then get skinnier. I would rather look great naked than fit into a size zero pant again, lolol.
With all that being said, do you guys have any suggestions? Or even just your workout routines so that I can see what the "average" looks like. Thank you!!! :)

Replies

• Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,209 Member
    Options
    My goals, abilities, and preferences are probably different than yours, so my workout routine won't be of much help to you. If you need a strength program, follow any of the popular programs mentioned here daily, like NROL4W or Stronglifts. Or hire a good trainer and get a customized routine. There's also a routine in my profile. Most good beginner programs work the entire body 3 times per week, or an upper/lower split 2x week. You can fit in the cardio on your non-lifting days, or after lifting. :+1:
  • JBApplebee
    JBApplebee Posts: 481 Member
    Options
    I lift 3 times a week, breaking it down by chest & back on Mondays, Arms on Wednesdays & Legs & shoulders on Fridays, with Tuesday & Thursdays for cardio.
  • sammyliftsandeats
    sammyliftsandeats Posts: 2,421 Member
    Options
    I follow Stronglifts 5x5 which is a 3day program - full body, compound lifts.

http://stronglifts.com/5x5/

My cardio activity includes walking everywhere and the occasional hike.
  • AmandaLynn91316
    AmandaLynn91316 Posts: 27 Member
    Options