Need to lose 200 lbs/Severely Obese

Options
I have Cushing's Syndrome, and have been on Chronic Steroids 4 over 10 years! I've gained so much weight. i hope i can meet new friends.

Replies

• LoveMaineCoons
    LoveMaineCoons Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hello. I'm new to myfitnesspal so I'm trying to figure things out. I saw your post and wanted to say hello. I am not obese but have obesity on both sides of my family. I was a skinny girl but when I hit puberty, I started gaining weight quickly. Because I didn't want to be obese, I started aggressively working out in my 20s. I was in the gym 2 hours a day 6 days a week, which kept me very fit. Fast forward to today, I have chronic back pain, had several surgeries, was a pain management patient which resulted in becoming dependent on my prescribed meds causing me to go to drug rehab ... 20 years later, I am now off of narcotics (which were intensifying my pain). I still deal with back as well as various other pain related to overdoing it in the gym (imagine that!), but I manage them without the aid of prescription meds. When I went to rehab, I was down to 115lbs (I was 5'8, they say I'm 5'6 now after all of my back surgeries and procedures). After rehab because my body was in starvation mode, I was given protein drinks/bars and a high protein diet which caused me to gain 35lbs in a month (add about 16 more pounds ... ). I'm not obese but heavier than I should be and am working on taking this weight off which is difficult since I can no longer work out at the gym or do almost everything I knew how to do before chronic pain.