General discussion about Personal Trainers

Options
MzPix
MzPix Posts: 177 Member
I admit it. I spend money on a personal trainer when I can't really afford it. I want to make sure I am getting the best from my personal trainer, so I thought a public discussion might be informational. Knowledge is power.

I'm curious about others who have a trainer. Why did you choose to get one? Do you use your trainer all the time (like a certain number of times per week/month) or intermittently to amp up when you hit plateaus or just when you have the extra money?
Is it worth the cost? What service does your PT provide that you can't get for free? Does sex/gender matter? Does personality?
Did I leave out any important questions about PTs? Etc...

(By the way, if this discussion has already recently happened, please direct me to the correct thread. I'm still kind of noob here and haven't had as much time to browse as I'd like.)

Over the years I've had 4 different personal trainers. Most of them charge about $40-$55 per session in my area. (I don't know if that's high or low compared to other places?) I can also get PTs through the YMCA for $30-$35 per session, which is the route I have taken more recently. But I think the YMCA could offer more "deals," specials, coupons, bundled packages, etc.. and they would get more people engaging in personal training.

I choose to have a trainer for several reasons but the primary reason is because she keeps me motivated. I don't have much of a support system. I only have 2 close family members. Most of my friends are actually "fat friendly" and "size positive" so they aren't the most encouraging when it comes to weight loss. And I live alone.
If I know I have to show up at the gym to meet my trainer, I make myself go. I guess I feel accountable to her because I PAY her to hold ME accountable. It's part of her job.