Eat before or after a workout?

Options
This has probably been brought up before but I am a newbie. What is the best advice? Searching on the internet I got conflicting views. Those of you that have been successful and know your stuff, Please help!

Thanks!

Replies

• erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    in general it is best to have something small before, and protein and carbs after
  • ClareB1974
    ClareB1974 Posts: 224 Member
    Options
    I work out an hour to two after I've eaten breakfast and I *always* have a small banana afterwards, before my shower - works for me :-)
  • mindy14456
    mindy14456 Posts: 552 Member
    Options
    I workout first thing in the morning, and prefer to workout on an empty stomach. But sometimes a little protein bar or shake will give you extra energy to get through it!
  • sent4rmabove23
    Options
    I usually have a banana prior to working out and organic low fat chocolate milk right after...
  • trud72
    trud72 Posts: 1,912 Member
    Options
    a banana before hand to give your body a kick start of energy and it will also burn it off after quicker!
  • takemeaway10
    Options
    I'm glad I'm not the only monkey in here... banana before workout!
  • amarie35
    amarie35 Posts: 338 Member
    Options
    This may sound crazy but, I try to eat a little before & after. I'll have something w/ carbs before (to give me the energy to do my workouts) and I'll have some more carbs afterwards (to replenish my body). If I'm doing strength training & weight lifting, I'll eat carbs & protein after my workout (4 carbs to 1 protein).
    140150 Posts: 27
    Options