What do you do when your stomach won't stop growling?

Options
13»

Replies

• lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    edited November 2016
    Options
    lemurcat12 wrote: »
    Concrete verbiage can get you into trouble with the well-read. And apparently, laissez-faire and/or non-binding commentary can among the ill-read. :neutral:

What does this even mean?

Most statutes lately don't seem to be that well-drafted, IMO. And "concrete verbiage" (at least if that means what I think it means, but it lacks, well, concreteness) would seem to be desirable, to avoid unnecessary ambiguity or a law being interpreted in an unintended way.

What is laissez-faire language? I know about laissez-faire economics, obviously.

Not sure what non-binding commentary (which would seem to refer to things like legislative history) has to do with anything, let alone an internet discussion. Also, it's rarely the "ill-read" who make a thing about it, but lawyers and judges.

I'm a lawyer, so I am kind of interested in this topic.

It means if you speak concretely people who have nothing better to do and enjoy nit-picking will fuss over every word you say and interpret only common semantics

No, it's the opposite. If you write with unambiguous language -- clearly, or indeed, concretely, people will not be able to successfully convince a court that what you wrote is different from what you intended to write. Now, there still could be applications that you did not anticipate and you want to avoid that, but again I'm not seeing how this is relevant to the question of advice given on a forum.

A statute that does not clearly and concretely say what is required by the statute is a bad, terrible law (not that such laws don't exist, but using wishy-washy language is definitely considered a bug, not a feature, especially if you actually want the law to accomplish a particular objective).