Am I eating enough/too much to lose weight?

Options
TLDR:
I am a 28 year old male, 5'8" and 300 pounds. I have been exercising more and eating healthier for about a month but have not lost any weight?

Sorry, this is going to be very long but I want to make it as detailed as possible so that anyone who takes the time to read the whole thing can provide the best advice possible.

I am now 28 almost 29 years old...I was thin as a boy until around 8 then I started to put on weight consistently until I was about 200 pounds when I graduated from high school. As a 5'8" male that is pretty heavy. My biggest two I guess you would call them vices are pizza and pop...when I was growing up those were reserved for only special occasions like birthdays...so when I got old enough that I had a part time job in high school and could buy my own and I have dealt with an "addiction" to them pretty much ever since. When I first started college I was just going to class and I had a workstudy position but I didn't have a real job so my only exercise was just walking to-from class. This combined with the fact that at my college the meal plan allowed for Taco Bell, Chick-Fil-A, "home cooking" style foods, etc I was up to about 240 by the end of my first year of college.