Anyone had major success later in life?

Options
I feel like a gain and lose the same 10 pounds over and over. I'm almost 40(male). I know metabolism slows as we age but i wonder if it is a nearly impossible feat. Im a big guy as it is 250... and i would love to weigh 205-210... i used to weigh 325... im just not sure if I'm setting unrealistic goals for myself. I recently completed the spartan trifecta and felt that was a major accomplishment for me nearly being 40. I have some in my gym telling me to really pound out cardio and do simply maintenace weight training. That these 2 will butt heads if you combine the 2. Im a coach and i know that the two can coexist for the common good, but on the other hand realize that if i do too much cardio, ill begin to lose muscle. I guess my question is if i lift and combine cardio and keep my caloric deficit at about 750 a day, will i lose the weight and maintain the majority of my muscle. Also, how important do you feel protein shakes? I am struggling to get my protein numbers each day. Thanks gang!

Replies

• Brocksterdanza
    Brocksterdanza Posts: 208 Member
    Options
    I was saying losing muscle from cardio due to the muscle i lost doing insanity... i went from 325 to 225 and could barely curl a 25 pound dumbbell. I was told this was because my body used my lean muscle as fuel because i was in a deficit and pushing my body. It sounded reasonable.

Thanks for all of the advice btw
  • Brocksterdanza
    Options
    Sorry, just have always heard that after 40, you are on the backside of your life... didn't mean to ruffle feathers... my apologies
  • aldavid18
    aldavid18 Posts: 29 Member
    Options