Hi. Need help with staying on track through tough stuff

Options
Hi! I'm new to myfitnesspal, not to trying to become healthy. I'm trying to get my BMI down because I'm scared of the health implications...

Anyway, I'm an emotional/stressful eater. When I get sad, depressed, anxious, I make myself feel better by eating. It's something that has become conditioned to me about 5 years ago when I lost my brother and last summer when I lost my mom. People want to make you feel better and they feed you :) I also get defeated easily or if I don't feel I'm making progress and then fall off the wagon for a few days. It's like a horrible cycle that I can't get out of...

So my question is this: has anyone been where I am at? And what can you suggest to keep me motivated? Or any advice really :)

Thanks

Replies

• ivyjbres
    ivyjbres Posts: 612 Member
    Options
    I haven't lost any weight yet, so I don't know if this helps, but I just let people feed me when I feel bad. At least for a day or two (it averages out right?), and then when I'm ready to make myself feel better, I make a point to be really disciplined about writing down what I eat, and I distract myself with other things. I clean the house, do dishes, laundry, cook and give food to my neighbors, shave my legs until I'm 100% sure I haven't missed any hairs, pluck my eyebrows, etc. I don't know why, but it makes me feel better, even when I don't feel like doing it at the time, it makes me feel better after a bit.
  • avadoria
    avadoria Posts: 5
    Options
    ive been there for sure lol when working out u need to push yourself, i always keep that in mind.

so i kind of tell myself in my head 'u can do it! just a bit more', and i keep on adding 5 more minutes and i end up adding like, + 5x more to my workout. hehe.
    it makes me feel so good to workout after the initial push, so i just want to keep going.

just remember ur goal and keep thinking of it as u work out its a great boost