Calories Burned Lifting

Options
2»

Replies

• Hornsby
    Hornsby Posts: 10,322 Member
    Options
    krause1cj wrote: »
    This is fascinating though. So, HR calculator's aren't too accurate for anything other than consistent cardio. However, I've been using one basically daily for at least 6 months (probably more, I started using MFP almost exactly one year ago, and I started taking my HR during exercises a few months after that). And I've been eating back the extra calories the HR calculator says I've burned every day for over half a year now, and it's never hampered my results. When I was set to lose 2lbs a week, I stayed at that goal, sa me for 1lb, and for maintaining weight which I've done for about 6 months now.

So either I've consistently undershot my calories for a year now, which is possible, but I've always used MFP 's estimates for my calorie goals, or the HR isn't as inaccurate as people think when it comes to p90x3, which given the high cardio nature of that program is certainly possible.

The thing is, it isn't us "thinking" that it isn't accurate. It is science. You can literally email the company of your HR monitor and they will tell you the same thing. The monitor uses an algorithm and/or formula that is based on steady state cardio. Not doing steady state cardio is directly changing some of the formula. If I say 10 + 0 = 10 and 0 is equal to steady state cardio, and then change the formula to 10 + 1 =10, the formula becomes wrong and inaccurate. It's basically the same thing. The margin of error varies based on how close to "0" you are. If you are getting the right numbers, it's coincidence. That's a fact.
  • itsthehumidity
    itsthehumidity Posts: 351 Member
    Options
    Lifting weights doesn't burn all that many calories. I don't adjust for it. My semi-educated guess for myself, though, is that it burns about 200 calories per hour. Instead of focusing on that, I recommend you look at it this way: