Calorie Counting Help For A Cook

Options
FernGitt
FernGitt Posts: 10 Member
Hi. I'm a total noob. Just found the myfitnesspal app 3 days ago. It's not always easy for me to log what I'm eating because I'm a cook and make almost everything from scratch. It's extremely tedious to log every ingredient I'm putting into a dish and it's equally hard to find what I'm making in the database. (Many of my dishes are ethnic foods from different countries.) There's got to be an easier way to do this. Am I doing something wrong or missing something? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Replies

• jennybearlv
    jennybearlv Posts: 1,519 Member
    Options
    MFP has a feature for creating recipes. You can also save a meal if you normally eat a few dishes together. Huge time savers, though still tedious to create the recipes in the first place. Also, once you log a food it is stored in your recent or frequent histories making it easier to find it again.
  • seska422
    seska422 Posts: 3,217 Member
    Options
    Don't use homemade dishes from the database because you have no idea how they were made or the ratio of ingredients. Other database entries need to be double-checked for accuracy the first time you use them or you can enter the foods you use yourself into My Foods and not share with the database.

You can build your own recipes or meals in MyFitnessPal.

Do you have a food scale? That would help a lot. Put a plate on the scale and tare it (zero it out) and then add an ingredient and write down how much that ingredient weighs. Tare the scale and add the next ingredient and write down the weight. Repeat until you've weighed everything.

I know it sounds like a lot of work and it is at the beginning. However, after you get some practice, it gets faster and easier.
  • FernGitt
    FernGitt Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Yes I do have a food scale and have been using it for a few years now. Looks like I have a lot of data entry to do. :/
  • mweckler