Always hungry!

Options
Oh my word people! I just started this past week on eating healthy (ier) and I have found I am now always hungry! I feel like I'm starving! When I feel hungry I try and grab something healthy like a big bowl of fruit or apple slices but nothing seems to help. I've lost weight before but I suffered with an eating disorder since I was in 6th grade (I'm now 27). I recovered 3 years ago but gained about 70lbs. I'm aiming to lose it and then some but this is my first time doing it the normal way (eating healthy and exercising). Is this normal? I feel like I did when I was in the throws of my disorder. I mean I guess since I'm eating less than what I have been (must've been around 2700-3000 calories a day) being hungry makes sense but this is ridiculous. I just need a few opinions here and some help.

Replies

• spiriteagle99
    spiriteagle99 Posts: 3,680 Member
    Options
    Starting a diet is always hard, especially since you are so focused on it at first. It does get easier. You figure out which foods are more filling (i.e. protein, fiber) and which aren't. More exercise will allow you to eat more, but it may also make you hungrier. In time you find a balance.
  • monicatjackson
    monicatjackson Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Definitely start by making sure you are drinking plenty of water. I have also found that foods higher in fiber help me stay fuller longer. Stick with it, and good luck!
  • CattOfTheGarage
    CattOfTheGarage Posts: 2,750 Member
    Options
    When I get back into a deficit I'm usually very hungry for a week or two, then it settles down.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,432 Member
    Options
    Besides the ideas above, consider experimenting with the timing and composition of your eating, to see whether you can find a more satiating routine.

By timing, I mean what and how much you eat at varying times of the day.