Running Watch

Options
For the runners on here. Which do people prefer, Garmin Frontrunner 235 or Garmin Frontrunner 625 or TomTom??

Replies

• MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    Key questions become around how much running you do, and what other sports.

Personally I'd suggest the 235 as a reasonably priced, good watch. The 630 doesn't bring a huge amount more to the event.
  • lisawilkes20
    lisawilkes20 Posts: 138 Member
    Options
    I'm new to running, started a beginners class last May, so I dont need an all singing & dancing watch. I bought a tracker watch not realising I needed GPS which it does'nt have, so I take my mobile out with me, which I would prefer not to do. I'm with a group of runners not alone so I dont need my mobile on me really. Thanks for reply
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    Personally I run marathons and ultras with a Forerunner 310xt, about £90.

Perfectly adequate
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    I have the 225, which I love
  • lisawilkes20
    Options
    Personally I run marathons and ultras with a Forerunner 310xt, about £90.

Perfectly adequate

Great! Thanks.
    I wish I could run alone, as I'm finding it hard to be motivated with the dark cold nights, but I could find time during the day, but I just seem to give up with no one to chat to
  • lisawilkes20
    Options
    I have the 225, which I love

Great. Thanks for that
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    I'd be inclined to think the 625 may be a bit of overkill unless you're a serious data wonk (it tracks metric that would really be of interest to really competitive runners)

Personally I'd probably get the 230 over the 235 as I don't mind chest straps but the reviews on the 235 are pretty solid too...

https://dcrainmaker.com/2015/11/garmin-fr230-fr235-review.html
  • lisawilkes20
    Options