Abandoned calorie counting for something else?

Options
Has anyone completely quit counting calories and instead went low carb or clean eating where you supposedly dont have to track calories?

How did that work out for you?

Replies

• Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 24,883 Member
    Options
    I've been counting calories for the past 30+ years.

Not in detail all the time, but I'm constantly adding it up in my head.

Some years, when I exercised a lot, I counted to make sure I was eating enough ... a few years, I've needed to count to lose a bit ... and the rest of the time, I count to maintain. :)
  • crzycatlady1
    crzycatlady1 Posts: 1,930 Member
    edited January 2017
    Options
    I've done various IF protocols for my weight loss/maintenance (ADF, 5:2IF and now 16:8IF). But I've still had to count calories along with the IF :)
  • honeybee739
    honeybee739 Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    Thanks peeps!
  • Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
    Options
    SideSteel wrote: »
    If you go low carb you still need to reduce calories to lose the weight XD. You can't just magically eat more than you burn to lose weight. It doesn't work that way. If you eat 4000calories of veges and sit down all day and only burn 1700.. You're gonna gain weight. Same if you eat low carb. You need a calorie deficit ALWAYS. Some people find it easier to go low carb. I found that I was fuller for longer but i still needed to count my calories.

Correct however the original poster was asking about counting the calories.

You absolutely have to be in a calorie deficit to lose weight, as you mentioned. But it doesn't necessarily mean you have to count calories in order to achieve that.

Bingo.
  • Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
    Options
    savithny wrote: »
    My relative was doing GREAT on Atkins. Boasting about how easy it was and he could eat everything he wanted.