Doing things that make you uncomfortable

Options
Getting into exercising involves a lot of doing things that make you feel weak or horrible or awkward in the moment. How have you overcome these feelings? I've been trying to convince myself to go to dance cardio -- I'm in decent shape, but can't follow choreography to save my life. Have you had an experience like this that you've overcome?

Replies

• Nikki10129
    Nikki10129 Posts: 292 Member
    Options
    I just go and do it, the more you do it the more you see no one cares what you're doing, everyone's focused on themselves.
  • onward1
    onward1 Posts: 386 Member
    Options
    Yes, that's exactly what I've experienced with yoga. I'm in decent shape too but had visions of me flailing and feeling rather foolish. My New Year's resolution was to try something new each month that scared me. So, I went into my first yoga class on Friday and admitted I was a newbie and nervous. It was awesome, my next class is Monday. Just do it, I say! Remember, " A journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step." Next month I'm going to try skate skiing, then there's going to be a bike race I've had my eyes on , then who knows. Sign up and rock that class! Good Luck. ;)
  • dutchandkiwi
    dutchandkiwi Posts: 1,389 Member
    Options
    I have the feeling with any exercise I have taken up. But I also know I am only going to learn by doing and training. I see it as a road I have to travel to a goal. One step at a time, it will get me there.

It is no different in that respect from study or anything else. Talent helps but even then it is practice practice practice.
  • LeeBGoode
    LeeBGoode Posts: 30 Member
    Options