Shoulder snaps?

Options
When I do chest press, shoulder press etc my left shoulder snaps. I've ever tried a 5 lb weight and it still snaps. If I hold my arm at a 90 degree angle upright and rotate my hand up and down it snaps too. It doesn't feel comfortable but there's no extreme pain. Anyone have any ideas? I do have a dr appt on the 30th so I'll ask her then but figured I'd ask here.

Replies

• cerise_noir
    cerise_noir Posts: 5,468 Member
    Options
    Do you keep your shoulder blades together at the back? Are you doing them on a bench or floor?
  • Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,210 Member
    Options
    It could be a few different things. A general doctor probably won't be able to give you an exact diagnosis, so you may need to see an orthopedist, sports physical therapist, etc. In the mean time i would avoid exercises that make it snap. :+1:
  • bbell1985
    bbell1985 Posts: 4,572 Member
    Options
    Yeah. Mine snaps until I work it out. Have you seen how to warm up for bench press with a 2.5 or 5 lb weight? Arm circles in both directions, rotate arm down and up at 90 degrees, and a little fly with your elbow down at your waist. Not a great job describing it but you can look it up.
  • Z_I_L_L_A
    Z_I_L_L_A Posts: 2,399 Member
    Options
    Remember we are not doctors. That being said, I had a lot of popping in my left shoulder. Eventually tore all the tendons in the shoulder. Had them repaired 3 years ago, feels better now. Got all my strength back and then some. My popping was from calcium build up and he smoothed that out. That was my case.
  • RachelElser
    RachelElser Posts: 1,049 Member
    Options
    Mine snaps when I am just sitting in class and I stretch..... I hope it's nothing serious!
  • rainbowbow
    rainbowbow Posts: 7,490 Member
    edited January 2017
    Options
    This is called a subluxation and is a result of "unstable shoulder".