Is it better to jog 10 minutes [9 minute mile] or brisk walk

Options
I hate jogging. I love walking

I have the privilege to be able to go on an 80 minute brisk walk/power walk.

My jogging time right now is only 10 minutes. i hate jogging and i'm bad at it.

Is there some magic behind jogging/running that i'm missing here?

because i'd muuchh rather do 80 minutes of briskly walking than 10 minutes of jogging.

Replies

• farfalledibaciodinotte
    farfalledibaciodinotte Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    find a pace, a rhythm .... and just keep breathing :)
  • Ginger1384
    Ginger1384 Posts: 42
    Options
    I'm not good at jogging either. And I don't do power walks either. I'm hoping to build up to it.
  • JeffGDDG
    JeffGDDG Posts: 252 Member
    Options
    They say the best exercise is the one you'll do. If you want to walk, walk. Running will burn more calories over the same amount of minutes or miles but I would think 80 minutes of power walking several times a week will get you pretty fit. Good luck!
  • kr3851
    kr3851 Posts: 994 Member
    Options
    Is it feasible to do the 10 minute jog and then continue with walking until your time is up? Might as well get that heart rate up as quickly as you can and then let it take a little while to settle down....
  • jillybeanruns
    jillybeanruns Posts: 1,420 Member
    Options
    If you don't like to jog/run, then by all means...don't do it. You're supposed to enjoy your exercise in order to keep at it. With that said, maybe try jog/walk intervals for a change of pace (no pun intended)? But if you don't like it, don't do it. I love to run and struggle to strength train and stretch most days...but it's important, so I make myself. But what type of cardio you do doesn't matter, as long as you do it!
  • BOGmama2010
    BOGmama2010 Posts: 599 Member
    Options