Nursing mom looking to lose weight without jeopardizing baby

Options
Hello.

I had a baby 5 months ago & am still nursing. I'm seeking advice on how I can lose weight without affecting my baby. I had a rough pregnancy & ended up gaining way more weight than I should have. I now have 50+ lbs to lose but I'm not sure how to go about this safely while still nursing. I was going to wait until I weaned the baby but seeing all the weight is starting to affect how I feel about myself.

Thank you.

Replies

• faithrainbow1
    faithrainbow1 Posts: 54 Member
    Options
    I'm not a doctor, but my understanding is that as long as you do it gently, weight loss while nursing is just fine, especially if you've got quite a bit to lose. Set your goals at 0.5 to 1 lb per week. Be sure to drink lots of water and stay well hydrated. Make sure that your diet is well balanced and that you're getting healthy fats. If you want, you can look up foods that help promote milk supply and make sure to fit those into your calorie goals. It's been a little while for me but my memory is that foods like oatmeal, leafy greens, and nuts can be helpful. Good luck, and congratulations on your baby!
  • FreyasRebirth
    FreyasRebirth Posts: 514 Member
    Options
    (Totally a personal opinion of a woman who nursed 2 kids for 3 years and 2 years)