StrongLifts 5x5

I'm a beginner weighing 232 looking to loose 50+ pounds and Was wondering if the StrongLifts 5x5 workout is good for weight loss or is just mainly for strength??

Replies

• sammyliftsandeats
    sammyliftsandeats Posts: 2,421 Member
    A calorie deficit is for weight loss.

Stronglifts 5x5 is a great beginners strength training workout that can help shape your body composition while losing weight.

I love the program, it's a great foot in the door to strength training and it's easy to follow.
  • RY4N87
    RY4N87 Posts: 23 Member
    Thank you for replying sammy :) I'm going to give it a go. Do you do any cardio along with it ??
  • RY4N87

Stronglifts 5x5 is a great beginners strength training workout that can help shape your body composition while losing weight.

I love the program, it's a great foot in the door to strength training and it's easy to follow.

Thank you for replying sammy :) I'm going to give it a go. Do you do any cardio along with it ??
  • DevilsFan1
    DevilsFan1 Posts: 342 Member
    I'm doing SL 5X5. Been on the program for just over a month. I also cycle a couple of times a week. If you do start, get the smartphone app.
  • RY4N87
    DevilsFan1 wrote: »
    I'm doing SL 5X5. Been on the program for just over a month. I also cycle a couple of times a week. If you do start, get the smartphone app.

Yeah I've downloaded it looks pretty simple. did you add any exercises to the plan or did you follow the way it is??
  • curlsintherack
    curlsintherack Posts: 465 Member
    I lost about 30lbs doing SL and running. I hurt my back and was unable to lift for a couple of months and I'm redoing the stronglifts program from nearly the beginning again to rebuild my back. it seems to be working so far.
  • sammyliftsandeats
    sammyliftsandeats Posts: 2,421 Member
    RY4N87 wrote: »