Help its my first day of dieting

Options
Hello everyone,
I'm 43 years young and this is my first time on here. I've battles with my weight my entire life and now I'm determined to make a change. I love myself but I don't like what I see in the mirror. I'm excited about going on this weight loss journey but also scared. Ive never been really motivated but when I got on the scale and saw I was 330lbs I almost died.
I dont no how to eat right because I was never taught. This is the heaviest I've ever been in my life and I dont like it. Everything hurts, my ankles, my back, everything! So I went to the doctor and he has me on a no carb diet. He also said no sugar! Needless to say today is my first day and im optimistic but I have no Ideal what I can eat.
Is there some type of list out there with the foods I ahould and should not eat on it.?

Replies

• serindipte
    serindipte Posts: 1,557 Member
    Options
    If he wants you to avoid carbs, that generally means no breads, potatoes, rice, pasta, corn, fruit (sugar is a carb) or candies/cakes/pies/etc.

He wants you eating primarily meats, eggs, dairy and non-starchy veggies. You can use oils, butter, etc, but you'll still want to be careful how much as fats add higher calories to your foods. For snacks, you're going to do best with nuts, jerky, or raw veggies.

This list has foods with zero carbs:
    http://www.quick-weightloss-tips.com/foods-with-no-carbs.html

Did he put you on a no carb diet just to loose weight or are you also pre-diabetic?
  • brendafrost60
    brendafrost60 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    It's definitely a journey and you'll have good days and not so good days! Logging your food really helps - and log everything. No judging. My coach has told me to aim for a 1% improvement every day. So if I have a cookie today, I'll aim for a 1% improvement tomorrow - no backlash! And I agree with Spartan-Gingi - don't use the word diet. It's a lifestyle change - eating healthy and getting healthy.