Options
fitness1398
fitness1398 Posts: 11 Member
edited February 2017 in Motivation and Support
Decided to try something that
a) I'm not good at and
b) scarced to death to do

RUN.

Yes I know it's silly but I was never into sports, I was a clumsy child. It's hard enough to learn moves in cardio videos without looking ridiculous.

So to force myself and face my fear I'm going to do a 10 km marathon in the end of May. I'd love to add some peeps who can encourage me and I'll return the favour.

Replies

• runningjen74
    runningjen74 Posts: 312 Member
    Options
    Good for you. Add me if you want, I'm training for a half marathon row on erg (rowing machine) in May. It's a challenge just cause I think it's good to do something that's scary big every so often that you think you can't do!
  • sbrandt37
    sbrandt37 Posts: 403 Member
    Options
    Have fun with it. Your goal is definitely reachable.

I started running in mid-December, after 51 years of avoiding it except when forced to do it to train for other sports. After 18 mos. on an elliptical, and getting really bored with that, I started with C25K. That was too easy after the elliptical, so after doubling up its workouts for a few weeks I just started running. First 20 minutes straight, then 30, then 45, etc. Today, I ran my first 10K (distance, not a race). It took me 1:20. My goal is to do it in less than an hour by mid-April.
  • KeepRunningFatboy
    KeepRunningFatboy Posts: 3,055 Member
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Running is great
  • brdoyle8
    brdoyle8 Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    Hey! I started training January 1st, my goal is to get to a 5K and then 10k. Hated running, did track and cross country for years, quit and gained a ton of weight. Rediscovering my love for running. Add me if you want!
  • sharunza
    sharunza Posts: 32 Member
    Options